Divest Princeton is a coalition of students, faculty, staff and alumni calling on Princeton University to fully and urgently divest our endowment from fossil fuel companies and reinvest responsibly.


Divest Princeton began in October 2019 when a group of students and alumni wrote an Open Letter to President Eisgruber. Now, over 2500 Princetonians have signed, pledging to withhold donations to Princeton until the university divests (add your name here). We submitted our formal proposal for divestment to the University on February 13, 2020.

We are not the first group to urge Princeton to divest from fossil fuels. See a timeline of past and ongoing fossil fuel divestment action at Princeton and our progress here.

In the face of the overwhelming nature of the climate crisis, I look for levers of power and change to which I have access. Princeton is a powerful lever; I have thrown my weight as an alumna, and gathered the weight of other alumni, to push the University to act "in the service of humanity" and hasten our transition away from fossil fuels, through every means available--including divestment."

- Anna Liebowitz '09